Advisory board

The Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) advisory board consists of high-level academics, industrial members and CDT alumni. Representatives from EPSRC also attend the Advisory board meetings. This board is updated via  newsletter and is invited to CDT events such as Colloquia, summer schools and PhD project generation events. The board meets annually to ensure that both the vision and direction of the CDT are on target.

Advisory board members

Jo Craig

Dr Jo Craig (Deputy Chair)

NeRRe Therapeutics


Jo received her B.Pharm (first class honours) from the School of Pharmacy, now part of University College, London and qualified as a Pharmacist after pre-registration training at the Wellcome Foundation and Guys Hospital, London. Jo is a Fellow of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society, and an Eminent Fellow of the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences.


Jo has spent her entire career working in the pharmaceutical industry with a focus on pharmaceutical development, product quality and the introduction of new manufacturing technologies.

Jo is currently Senior Vice President CMC (Chemistry Manufacturing and Controls) for NeRRe Therapeutics, a clinical stage biotech company located at the Stevenage Biosciences Catalyst. She held the same role for KaNDy Therapeutics prior to its acquisition by Bayer in 2020. She also currently consults and advises for other clinical stage biotech companies.

Previously, Jo spent over 30 years at GlaxoSmithKline where her career spanned leadership roles in product development, latterly as Vice President of Technology and Strategy. Jo also led the technology team at the Medicines Manufacturing Industry Partnership (MMIP) where she was influential in aligning Pharma and UK Government on future areas for investment as part of the Life Sciences Industrial Strategy 2018 and has since served on related advisory groups.

Jo was an Advisor to the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences Board for several years, prior to taking on the role of APS chair (2020-2021) and joining the Board.

Raphael Egbu

Dr Raphael Egbu


Raphael is a qualified pharmacist with a PhD in pharmaceutical science. He is a CDT alumnus and currently works as a Technical Lead at NICE.

Gudrun Fridgeirsdottir

Dr Gudrun Fridgeirsdottir

Norweign Medicines Agency


Gudrun received her BSc in Pharmacy from the University of Iceland in 2009,  a MSc in Drug Discovery and Development from Uppsala University in Sweden in 2011 and graduated with a PhD from the CDT program at Nottingham University in 2018.


After completing the PhD degree at Nottingham University Gudrun worked in formulation development at Juniper Pharmaceuticals (later Catalent) focusing on enabling technologies on substances in pre-clinical and clinical phase. Gudrun currently works at the Norwegian Medicinal Agency.

Kate Porter Goff

Kate Porter Goff

Senior Portfolio Manager, EPSRC

Kate is a Senior Portfolio Manager in the Healthcare Technologies team at EPSRC. Kate has a MSci in Chemistry and a PhD in protein design, both from the University of Bristol.


Professor Kieran Hodnett

University of Limerick


Professor Annette Taylor

University of Sheffield